Skip to content


BOFFO Performance Festival Fire Island is a weekend of performance, music, and dance made for the island’s unique social and geographic context. The festival affirms BOFFO’s ongoing support of challenging art and fostering dynamic social environments by inviting a stimulating constellation of artists to produce new and adapted works for the island’s diverse public. Many of the participating artists are new to Fire Island. In commissioning artists to present works in the festival, BOFFO is expanding upon the vibrant cultural scene of the island, embracing progress through the arts.

From ballroom to disco, live events and performance have been integral in the formation of the Queer communities. In 2015 BOFFO established the BOFFO Performances Festival Fire Island. Each year the festival is organized around a central theme pertinent to the challenges and complexities of the LGBTQ community.

BOFFO would like to thank all the artists for their participation, Fire Island residents for their support and interest in the experimental practices BOFFO brings to the island, and all the staff, volunteers, hosts, and sponsors that have made our festivals possible.

August 12, 2023 BOFFO Performance Festival Fire Island in collaboration with OCDChinatown. Artists: Cassils, Dazié Grego-Sykes, Dorian Wood, mayfield brooks, Shamel Pitts | TRIBE, Papi Juice, and their collaborators.

BOFFO Performance Festival Fire Island 2022, in collaboration with OCDChinatown, is a weekend of dance, sound, and performance on the beach

Kiyan Williams, Z Tye Richardson with Cory Walker, Maya Margarita with Jhevere, Ryan McNamara, Hannah Black, Dangerous Rose, Raven Valentine

Young Boy Dancing Group (Manuel Scheiwiller, Maria Metsalu, Nicolás Rosés Ponce, Imma Asher, Gabriella Alexis, Sophia Park), Kia Damon, Richard Kennedy, Xander, Benjamin Ackerman, Jonah Rollins, Stephen Ostrowski, ELSZ, and West Dakota, Sebastian Hernandez, Bichon, Papi Juice, SPIT! ( (SODOMITES, PERVERTS, INVERTS TOGETHER!) (Carlos Motta, John Arthur Peetz and Carlos Maria Romero) with Vivian Crockett, Camilo Godoy, Jason Guevara/Jenn D’role) Ryan McNamara, Brandon Washington, Aaron Burr Johnson, Victor Lozano, Oisín Monaghan, Forest Wu

Savannah Koop, Justin Allen, Adult Contemporary (Svetlana Kitto and Katherine Brewer), Mariana Valencia, TM Davy, DonChristian, Martine Gutierrez and Michael Magnan, Fragile (Wolfgang Tillmans, Kyle Combs, Juan Pablo Echeverri, Tim Knapp, Jay Pluck, Tom Roach), Zsela, Yardy, Tyler Ashley, Charlene, Merrie Cherry, Patti Spliff, and Lucy Balls, Sarah Zapata (King of Nightwood) with Lily Marotta, Elizabeth Jaeger, Emily Oliveira, and Raque, Music by Amber Valentine, Nudity in Dance (Nick Hallett, Miguel Gutierrez and Daisy Press)

Amber Martin, Lance Horne, Jesse Krakow, Tara-Jo Tashna, Aarron Ricks, DeVonn Franci, Wu Tsang & Boychild, Pines Conservation Society, Quori Theodor, Sarah Zapata, Lily Marotta

FlucT (Sigrid Lauren and Monica Mirabile), Casey Spooner, Xavier Cha, Rafael Reynoso, Adonis Vasquez, Ssion, The Blow (Melissa Dyne and Khaela Maricich), Frankie Sharp, Fragile ( Wolfgang Tillmans, Kyle Combs, Juan Pablo Echeverri, Tim Knapp, Jay Pluck, Tom Roach), EARTHEATER, Tyler Ashley, Pines Conservation Society, DJ Pearl, m. Lamar

Andrew Kachel, Clara López Menéndez, Enrico D. Wey, Jen Rosenblit, Colin Self, Marc Blackwell, TM Davy, and Tyler Matthew Oyer (TMO), Nomi Ruiz, Lauren Devine, La’Fem Ladosha, Juliana Huxtable, Vanessa Anspaugh