Skip to content

Digital Commissions

In Politics We Trust

Mar 23 — May 30

A BOFFO Presidential Campaign Social Media Project

“In Politics We Trust” is a Presidential Campaign social media project created by BOFFO, a nonprofit arts organization. This project provides an opportunity for artists, illustrators, and designers to create & share political campaign social media in response to the 2016 American Presidential Election. Media can be submitted for, or against (or without) any particular stance for a candidate, or address an important political issue.

BOFFO hopes to create a nation-wide dialog about the upcoming election and political climate in America by giving artists a platform to share their thoughts, not only on the candidates, but also the many important issues facing our country at this time. The artworks will be shared on BOFFO’s Instagram, @boffo_ny, and on Tumblr at A jury of institutional leaders and artists from across the country will select their favorite artworks, which will be shared with the presidential candidates’ campaign offices, and might even have the distinction of being featured in their campaigns.

Submissions will be accepted by BOFFO from March 23 – May 30, 2016. If approved, they will be placed online for everyone to see on a rolling basis. Everyone is encouraged to share, like, comment, and promote the posters. Some posters may even end up going viral. Hashtags, comments, and other forms of social communication will all be encouraged to further the national conversation about the upcoming election and American politics. The jury selected posters will be announced at the end of the competition, still all posters will remain online for anyone to share and continue the dialog. Additional terms and conditions apply. See official rules for details (

Jury: Faris Al-Shathir BOFFO, Director, Founder Dr. Robyn Asleson National Portrait Gallery, Assistant Curator of Prints, Drawings and Media Arts Nicholas Baume Public Art Fund, Director Lauren Cornell New Museum, Curator and Associate Director, Technology Initiatives Stephen Duncombe New York University, Professor of Media and Culture, Co-Founder/Co-Director, Center for Artistic Activism Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher SFMOMA, Helen Hilton Raiser Curator of Architecture and Design, Department Head, Architecture and Design Christine Y. Kim Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Associate Curator of Contemporary Art Steven Matijcio Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati, Curator Cara McCarty Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, Curatorial Director René Morales Perez Art Museum Miami, Curator Catherine J. Morris Brooklyn Museum, Sackler Family Curator for the Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art Mark Pascale The Art Institute of Chicago, Janet and Craig Duchossois Curator of Prints and Drawings Christiane Paul Whitney Museum of American Art, Adjunct Curator of New Media Arts, The New School, Assoc. Prof., School of Media Studies Pavel Pyś The Walker Art Center, Curator for Visual Arts Beau Rutland The Cleveland Museum of Art, Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art Jacques Servin The Yes Men, Artist/Activist Kelly Shindler Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis, Associate Curator Martino Stierli MoMA Chief Curator of Architecture and Design Laetitia Wolff AIGANY Program Director, Special Initiatives Shannon Rae Stratton Museum of Art & Design, Chief Curator Heidi Zuckerman Aspen Art Museum, Nancy and Bob Magoon CEO and Director

Presidential Comittee:  Cole Akers The Glass House, Curator and Special Projects Manager Thomas Arsac 303 Gallery, Associate Director Anneliis Beadnell P.P.O.W., Director Felix Burrichter PIN–UP Magazine, Founder Alexander Ferrando Metro Pictures, Gallery Director 83 Pitt Street, Founder & Director James Fuentes James Fuentes Gallery, Owner Tim Goossens Clocktower, Adjunct Curator Pati Hertling Curator Alejandro Jassan Alexander Gray Associates, Gallery Associate Casey Kaplan Casey Kaplan Gallery, Director/Owner Donald Johnson Montenegro Luhring Augustine, Director Yuta Nakajima Hauser & Wirth, Associate Director Luke P. Brown ARTBOOK | D.A.P., Director of Publicity Thor Shannon Gavin Brown’s Enterprise, Gallery Associate Pascal Spengemann Marlborough Chelsea, Director Fabienne Stephan Salon 94, Curator Johannes Vogt Johannes Vogt Gallery, Owner

Selected Artists: Aaron Schraeter, ABCNT, Adam Helms. Alex Prince, Amir Fallah, Andy Šlemenda, Calida Rawles, Caris Reid, Carla Cubit, Christopher Cox, David Livingston, Dela Ariela, Evan B. Harris, Gina Volpe, Hal Hefner, Hanksy, Honig Peregrine, Ian McGillivray, Jac Lahav, Jason Pearson, Jeff Ostergren, Jenn Gilroy, John Kilduff, Jordan Eagles, Joshua Abelow, Juan C. Spearman, Julia Luke, Konni Jensen, Maynard Monrow, Natalie Henson, Orlando de la Garza, Patrick Martinez, Peregrine Honig, Recycled Propaganda, Rodney Durso, Ryan Aceto, Samuel Ho (No Small Victories), Schandra Singh, Skyler Brown, Stephen Mead, Tim Wehrle, Tyler Gibney, Veronika Georgieva.